APPOINTMENTS TO LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES

Executive Summary

At the meeting of Council on 22 May 2023, the Membership of the Sub-Committees of the Licensing Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year were agreed as follows:

Licensing Sub-Committee A (Daytime) (3) (All remaining Members of Licensing Committee appointed as Substitutes)	Councillor Caulfield Councillor Hussain Councillor Oades
Licensing Sub-Committee B (Evening) (3) (All remaining Members of Licensing Committee appointed as Substitutes)	Councillor Javaid Councillor Leach Councillor Martin
Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee (Daytime) (6)	Councillor Hussain Councillor Javaid Councillor Leach Councillor Rice Councillor Spenser Councillor Sullivan

It is a legal requirement that Members of the Sub-Committees are also Full Members of the Licensing Committee and it has come to light that one of the Members appointed to the Sub-Committees was not also appointed to the Licensing Committee: Licensing Sub-Committee A – Councillor Oades.

Following consultation with the Group Leader, Councillor Leach has been put forward to replace Councillor Oades on Licensing Sub-Committee A. In addition, Councillor Sullivan has been put forward to replace Councillor Leach on Licensing Sub-Committee B. Both Councillor Leach and Councillor Sullivan are Members of the Licensing Committee.

The Council is requested to approve the changes to the membership for the remainder of the Municipal Year. There are no changes required to the Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee.

Recommendations

The Committee is requested to:

RESOLVE That

- (i) Councillor Leach be appointed to Licensing Sub-Committee A in place of Councillor Oades for 2023/24; and
- (ii) Councillor Sullivan be appointed to Licensing Sub-Committee B in place of Councillor Leach for 2023/24.

The Committee has the authority to determine the recommendations set out above.

Appointments to Licensing Sub-Committees

Background Papers: None.

Reporting Person: Gareth John, Interim Director of Legal and Democratic Services

Email: Gareth.john@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3077

Contact Person: Doug Davern, Democratic Services Officer

Email: doug.davern@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3018

Date Published: 12 July 2023